Book Review: Ruin & Rule by Pepper Winters

*** WARNING! This book is for ADULTS only or may be unsuitable for people under 21 years of age due to sexual content, graphic violence, and/or mature themes. Reader discretion is highly advised. If you are easily offended, then this book is not for you and please do not continue. ***

 
Ruin & Rule by Pepper Winters
Series: Pure Corruption MC #1
Release Date: July 7th 2015
Publisher: Forever
Language: English
Print Length: 464 pages
Format: eBook
Genres: Dark, Erotica, Romance, Suspense
Target Reader: Adult

“We met in a nightmare. The in-between world where time had no power over reason. We fell in love. We fell hard. But then we woke up. And it was over . . .”

RUIN & RULE

She is a woman divided. Her past, present, and future are as twisted as the lies she’s lived for the past eight years. Desperate to get the truth, she must turn to the one man who may also be her greatest enemy . . .

He is the president of Pure Corruption MC. A heartless biker and retribution-deliverer. He accepts no rules, obeys no one, and lives only to reap revenge on those who wronged him. And now he has stolen her, body and soul.

Can a woman plagued by mystery fall in love with the man who refuses to face the truth? And can a man drenched in darkness forgo his quest for vengeance-and finally find redemption?

add-to-goodreadsPurchase Links: Amazon USB&N • Kobo • iBooks
Paperback: Amazon US • Book Depository

Review by Elle

I’m an addict to all books by Pepper Winters. Monster in the Dark series is definitely one of my holy grail. Honestly, I never read a book about MC themes because in my country, MC is not really stand out. Ruin & Rule was my first MC book and I loved it. Like I told you, I will read everything from Pepper Winters. She’s one of my favorite dark erotica romance author. I can’t spill too much because you have to read by yourself. Ruin & Rule is a story about lies, betrayal, and vengeance for the loss of his love. Enjoy the ride!

PURE IN THOUGHTS AND VENGEANCE. CORRUPT IN ALL THINGS THAT MATTER.
I will have my vengeance.
I will find my peace.
I will ruin those motherfuckers and hope to God I will be free.

Welcome to Pure Corruption MC and let’s meet the (anti)hero, Arthur Killian aka Kill who has a vengeful soul. Eight years ago, he lost everything dear for him including the only girl he loves. Everything dead inside him except his lust for vengeance for the people who is behind all of the tragedy. Despite his brooding and angry personality, he is a genius who made himself a billionaire. He already made plan for who betrayed him and he will get his revenge for redeem himself.

One night change everything when Killian meet a ghost of his past in the middle of his ‘business’. Her green eyes and red hair haunts him. Forgetful Girl; is a nickname for her from Killian. She’s a woman who lost her memories but when she met him, every piece started to fall. She determined to let Killian have her in exchange want her memories back. One thing she knows that she made a deal with the devil. And the devil himself going to be her nightmare. The longer they were together, she’s getting some flashbacks. She’s really sure that Killian has important part of her previous life.

Your heart has stolen mine;
Two souls beating in time.
Yet you push me away—rejection a cruel say
I beg you to kiss me. Take me. Claim me.
Make me yours and put my fears at bay.

I cried, angry and horny in the same time. I have no doubt about Pepper Winter’s writing. It’s very brutal yet beautiful and poetic. But some conversation turns to be too sugary. Storyline flow naturally and there is no rush. Ruin & Rule consists of 30% drama, 30% suspense, 30% sex and 10% romance. Why? I feel the drama is like mafia type. All that power and glory cause everyone greedy and vain. The betrayal part who ruins everyone from start. The suspense stars after Kill made a very fucked-up decision. Oh, sex! I loved it when Killian turns into alpha-male and… Ughhh that rough sex made me wet 😉

However, I’m still frustrated with weak moment. I have emotional train wreck until the end. Killian is supposed to be bad-ass alpha male but when he met her, all he thought about was sex. She reminds him so much from his past. When they want to talk about the problem, it always ends with sex. I didn’t really bother with the romantic part, but it’s a big NO when he became pussy-whipped for almost 40%. The sex became too much and bothered me. Their childhood somehow bothered me. The flashbacks surprised me to the fact that she was around 13 and want to have sex? Whut! Thank God for him for STILL have self-control. There is a part that I (really) hate Killian because I want to bitch-slap him for the denial. It’s a deep shit and I was afraid that he couldn’t cope up again.

I always wonder what will happen next because there is so many secrets. I can’t stop reading it because every chapter turns into many questions and another answers. Overall, I recommend Ruin & Rule as a gray romance with suspense. It was intense and gritty but trust me, it’s not that scary until you reach the safe point. Unfortunately, this is not enough to mind-fuck me. Excellent job for the cliffhanger and I need to wait until 2016 (Well, shit it still six months away!). I was completely devoured by Ruin & Rule and can’t wait for Sin & Suffer.

Overall Rating

4stars

SEXOMETER

3bikinis

happyreading

One thought on “Book Review: Ruin & Rule by Pepper Winters

  1. Aww… Aku juga ketagihan sama buku2nya Pepper Winters semenjak aku baca DESTROYED..
    Dan cerita yang campur aduk ini pastinya membuat emosiku naik turun hehe..

    Like

Leave a Reply

