ARC Review: Warrior by Nicole Blanchard

Warrior by Nicole Blanchard
Series: First of Fight #1
Release Date: September 8th 2015
Publisher: Bolero Books
Language: English
Print Length: 237 pages
Genres: Military, Romance, Contemporary
Target Reader: Adult

I thought it was just one night with my brother’s best friend.

The boy I had dreamt about since he gave me my first kiss, under the lights of the Ferris wheel.

I knew he was about to leave for a year – no chance for a future.

But our one night together would create memories for a lifetime.

Our paths crossed again, but I had lied, and he was no longer the man he once was. He was warring against demons.

Against the silence that was threatening to swallow him. And I had kept a secret from him, one he would never forgive me for.

But my secret was about to be ripped open. Displayed for the world on national news. And I had only one way to repair the damage.

I had to trust the man I lied to.

The man I never got the chance to make a life with.

The only man who could save what we had created together.

This is a FULL LENGTH, STANDALONE with NO CLIFFHANGER.

add-to-goodreadsPurchase Links: Amazon US
Paperback: Amazon US

Review by Alexa

When I saw the cover and the title from this Nicole Blanchard’s ARC book, at first I imagined a story about a badass hero with background military and full of thrilling action. But this book chose to highlight the fragile side of a warrior who managed to return from the battlefield and face a new war which is against himself.

Olivia already know Ben since they’re teenager, in fact they create magic together. But Ben who returned from Afghanistan, acted differently from the man who had given unforgettable hot night nine months ago. Ben; the marine veteran, managed to survive the physical injuries from his last military assignment but he emotionally unstable conditions and his trauma make him shut down from the environment.

This is a sweet story but full of inner conflict and it’s well written in dual POV between h/h that could capture their emotion beautifully. The pace is good and makes me able to read quickly though many scenes described with detail. Well, the joke plus quotes is quite simple but touching. I also liked the secondary characters and their interactions.

“I thought I was broken before? That is nothing compared to the desolation I feel now. Now I am a warrior put to pasture and forced to rejoin the world with death and destruction on my conscience.”

In depth of the character, the chemistry between Ben and Olivia instantly constructed in sexy-hot scene in the early chapter. Even their interest has existed since the first time but to be honest, it is hard to believe. Feeling uncertainty and emotions between them are strong enough but some inconsistencies described the nature of the two main characters makes me not able to establish a bond and empathize with their story. The hot-cold attitude from Ben to suddenly withdraw from reality is very frustrating. I am more in love with Olivia brother character. Can’t wait book from him. Olivia is too easy to forgive, excessive guilt and wandered blindly in Ben’ mood swing is obviously not my cup of tea.

Warrior tries to give a lot of conflict and twist. The early fifty percent is the story about how Olivia survived without Ben. And the rest is filled with on-off her relationship with Ben, deal with trauma and some secrets that buried by that man, also the suspense from threat lurking their families. Sometimes it is best to keep it simple. But, if you like romantic drama with emotional feeling plus military background and thrilling suspense, you would love this story. Because I certainly would be happy to read the other titles of this author Nicole Blancard.

Overall Rating

3.5stars

SEXOMETER

3bikinis

happyreading

Leave a Reply

