Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #1
Release Date: January 3rd 2012 by Feiwel & Friends
Language: English
Print Length: 400 pages
Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Fairy Tales, Dystopia
Target Reader: Young Adult/Teen

Ebook: Amazon US • B&N • Kobo • iBooks
Int. Paperback: Amazon US • Book Depository
Indonesia: Periplus (Paperback/Hardcover)

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future

add-to-goodreads


REVIEW BY ELLE

HELLO there!!! I proudly announced that Cinder is my first read of YA-Fantasy-Scifi-Dystopia. I never take interest to read YA. Ever. But, I have to admit that I was hooked with this book. Cinder takes my fantasy to another level. I only like fantasy/dystopia/Scifi when in movies like animation or Japanese manga. Marissa Meyer brings fairy tale into another form. Well, Cinderella isn’t my fave fairy tale so I’m quite surprised with what I’ve read in this book. Well, I have some likes and dislikes with Cinder from my own perspective.

Credit: http://kamiira.tumblr.com/

What I liked:

  • This is new for me. I was a little confused with the setting. I’m not a big fans of robots and mechanical things when it came to book. I have to open my imagination more wide than ever. So, i imagine that New Beijing is like San Fransokyo from Big Hero. LOL
  • As for the main characters, Cinder is taken from Cinderella of course. She has a cyborg part for arm, leg, eye and her internal organs. It’s cool but kinda useless. She should be more creative with her mechanical parts. Cinder can be snarky and good at sarcasm but not really polite for 16 yo (maybe she’s sensitive being a cyborg?). At the first time, I really didn’t know why the people despise cyborg.
  • Cinder has 2 step sisters, Pearl and Peony. It seemed that Peony is the kind one. Pearl is the mean one just like her step mother, Adri. She’s evil like the original Cinderella.
  • I think the form of Fairy Godmother in here became Dr. Dmitri Erland. At first, i hate him because he never mention his reason beside his research for the cure. I know it’s not that easy. I thought he just a cameo, but until the end he seems has the answer for Cinder’s question.
  • Iko is the mascot. Cinder’s friend in a form of android? Robot? But she’s kinda funny; the opposite of Cinder’s sarcasm. Well, in my imagination she looks like the robot from Wall-E 😀

What I didn’t like:

  • Kaito. ‘The Prince Charming’ is really useless. Well, he’s a prince who will become Emperor yet he doesn’t have creativity to obtain information beside using his childhood android. (I have the experience with a movie about a not-useless-emperor and I hope Kai will be like him but the fact he isn’t). Emperor suppose to be have more power and control over his kingdom and people. I think he never learn about his country at all. The plus about Kaito is only his smart mouth and charm who melted the entire New Beijing, huh.
  • The first 50% is really boring and I need to skip some part because it’s not necessary. The world building doesn’t impress me.
  • I didn’t expect big plot twist in any form. I could guess who is she but her story behind all of that is remains mystery until the end. Once again, this is for YA right? So, i think Cinder is more focus for an easy read along with the ‘adventure’ and fairy tale kind-of-story. I mean, the real adventure isn’t fully show in this book.
  • Glamour is magical thing from Lunar. I have dejavu with True Blood (The first glamour I know) and Glamour will deceive you into something the user want you to believe. *FYI, almost vampire story contains glamour skill*

I give applause to Marissa Meyer for create this kind of fairy tale retelling . Even there are some issues from the story and characters, I still enjoyed it. It take me a couple of days to process it because this is new for me. I don’t have solid imagination for SciFi. Cinder is an enjoyable read for me with some flaws on the process. I would love to recommend this for everyone who likes fairy tale retelling mix with SciFi and Dystopia. It’s kinda fun to try and isn’t gonna waste your time if you interested 😉
*Btw, I stalked Marissa after read Cinder. Hahaha… So, she like Sailor Moon, eh? No wonder Another dejavu.

description

OVERALL RATING

4stars

happyreading

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. I’m not expecting to like it. I’m not sure why, but this book completely surprised me. Terima kasih buat Trio Kompor. Sebelumnya belum pernah baca novel tentang cyborg, aku taunya cuma RoboCop, hehehheee, :p. Thank you kakak untuk 5 review Lunar Chronicles, jadi ga sabar buat namatin series ini.

    Like

  2. Dari semua review buku yang ada di blog ini, saya langsung buka Cinder, secara saya suka cerita Cinderella…
    Liat reviewnya pakai bahasa Inggris, langsung malas bacanya…tapiii setelah coba baca, eh bahasanya mudah saya pahami…

    Jadi tidak sabar untuk baca novelnya…

    Like

  3. Dari semua review buku yang ada di blog ini, saya langsung buka Cinder, secara saya suka cerita Cinderella…
    Liat reviewnya pakai bahasa Inggris, langsung malas bacanya…tapiii setelah coba baca, eh bahasanya mudah saya pahami…

    Jadi tidak sabar untuk baca novelnya…

    Like

Leave a Reply

